Oregon Car Insurance Guide – Forbes Advisor

Editorial Note: Forbes Advisor may charge a commission on sales made from partner links on this page, but this does not affect the opinions or ratings of our editors.

Even the best drivers can have a car accident. Whether you are returning to another car at Safeway or a large tree branch falls on your vehicle, you want the right insurance.

Here’s how to navigate Oregon auto insurance options to find the right coverage.

Oregon Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

Oregon law states that car owners must purchase these minimum amounts of coverage limits:

Liability insurance:

  • $ 25,000 for bodily injury to a person.
  • $ 50,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in an accident.
  • $ 20,000 for property damage in an accident.

This is often written 25/50/25.

Automobile liability insurance pays for damage you do to others, whether it is personal injury or property damage. Property damage includes more than damage to other cars. It could be a neighbor’s fence you hit or a building that you accidentally crashed into.

If you have assets that would be at risk in a lawsuit against you, you want limits of liability higher than the state minimum. This way, your insurance coverage pays for legal judgments against you, instead of plunging you into savings and wages owed.

Coverage for uninsured motorists:

  • $ 25,000 for bodily injury to a person.
  • $ 50,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in an accident.
  • $ 20,000 for property damage in an accident.

If you are hit by someone with little or no insurance, your coverage for uninsured motorists (UM) or Underinsured Motorist (UIM) coverage may go into effect to pay you. Essentially, he can pay what the other driver’s insurance should have paid for, if he had sufficient coverage.

In Oregon, UM and UIM can cover both your personal injury and property damage, such as damage to your car caused by the uninsured driver. UM does not pay the other driver, he pays you.

Personal injury protection, aka PIP Insurance:

  • $ 15,000 PIP coverage per person.

PIP insurance was designed as a way to streamline auto accident claims. If you sustain minor injuries in an accident, you can make a claim on your own PIP insurance no matter who is at fault.

In addition to medical bills, PIP in Oregon will cover lost wages (70%, up to a maximum of $ 3,000 per month), funeral expenses (up to $ 5,000), and childcare expenses if you are hospitalized (only up to $ 25 per day). , with a maximum of $ 750).

What else should I have?

Collision and comprehensive insurance: Collision and full coverage are generally sold together and cover damage to cars caused by collisions, hail, floods, fires, falling objects and accidents with animals. Plus, comprehensive coverage pays if your vehicle is stolen.

These types of coverage are generally required if you have an automobile loan or lease.

Put it all together

Can I show my insurance ID card from my phone?

You can use your mobile phone to display a car insurance Identity card in Oregon. Many auto insurance companies have apps that make it easier to access your insurance ID.

Average Oregon Auto Insurance Premiums

Car owners in Oregon pay an average of $ 877 per year for auto insurance. Here are the Oregon average premiums for common coverage types.

Factors Allowed In Oregon Auto Insurance Rates

Auto insurance companies typically calculate rates using your driving record, past claims, vehicle model, and manners. In Oregon, insurers can legally use these factors as well.

How many uninsured drivers are there in South Dakota?

About 13% of Oregon car owners don’t have insurance, according to the Insurance Research Council. For comparison, that’s about average and between the high of 27% in Florida and 5% in Maine.

Penalties for driving without automobile insurance

If you are caught driving with auto insurance in Oregon, the penalties may include:

  • A fine of $ 130 to $ 1,000
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year
  • Impound your vehicle
  • An obligation to present proof of insurance to the State for three years.

When can a vehicle be totaled?

A car can be declared totaled in Oregon when the damage exceeds 80% of its retail value.

Solving insurance issues

The Oregon Department of Insurance regulates insurance companies and takes complaints. If you have an unresolved issue with an insurance company, check out this complaint information page.


Source link

About Nereida Nystrom

Check Also

Sort code not found to help victims of financial abuse

Financial abuse is a form of domestic violence that involves the perpetrator preventing a victim …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *